A brief history of the Competition

A brief history of the Competition.

Professor Delia Steinberg Guzmán instituted in 1982, the Piano Competition that bears her name. National at the beginning and International shortly after, it tries to promote the values of music and promote the artistic career of young pianists.
The venues for the Competition have been different, from the Real Casino or the Madrid Conservatory, to the Victoria Theatre, where it is currently taking place.
We highlight some members of the jury such as Professor Rafael Solís, the Israeli professor and soloist Albert Mamriev, the pianist Michael Davidov born in Uzbekistan, the Greek soloist and professor Elena Christianou, among others.
The Delia Steinberg International Piano Competition is held annually in Madrid (Spain), is a member of the Alink-Argerich Foundation, and one of the oldest competitions in Spain. Thousands of pianists have participated in its 41 editions. The winners have been young people from more than 30 countries; which has helped boost the career of many of them who currently perform, teach or promote other Competitions.

Winners at all editions

2021 JungYeon Yim (USA)

2019 Eun-A Kim
2018 Da-Hae Kim
2017 Hyein Jeon y Giulio de Padova (ex-aequo)
2016 Dong Wan Ha
2015 Alexia Mouza
2014 Michael Davidov
2013 Desierto / Non atributed
2012 Shih-Wei Chen
2011 Christopher Falzone
2010 Pavel Kolesnikov
2009 Evgeny Starodubsev / Jae-Kyung Yoo (ex-aequo)
2008 Jia Wang
2007 Alexander Yakovlev
2006 Enrique Bernaldo de Quirós
2005 Desierto / Non atributed
2004 Olesya Shutko – Jorge Picó (Compartido / ex-aequo)
2003 Rintaro Akamatsu
2002 Omar Sánchez
2001 Mariko Aoki
2000 Soo Jin Oh
1999 Junko Hayashi – Saeko Okabe (Compartido / ex-aequo)
1998 Milos Mihajlovic – Albert Mamriev (Compartido / ex-aequo)
1997 Friedrich Thomas – Ayako Kimura (Compartido / ex-aequo)
1996 Carlos Márquez Fernández
1995 Oliver Kern – Eugeni Nefiedoff (Compartido / ex-aequo)
1994 Rafael Alfonso Porras
1993 Santiago Casero Alcañiz – Héctor Jesús Sánchez Fernández (Compartido / ex-aequo)
1992 Daniel del Pino Gil
1991 Carolina Bellver Álvarez
1990 Desierto / Non atributed
1989 José Gallego Jiménez
1988 Marta Maribona
1987 Yolanda Vidal Vallés – Pedro Mariné Isidro (Compartido / ex-aequo)
1986 Moon Juan Chang Rok
1985 Rosalía Pareja Flores
1984 Mª Teresa Pérez Hernández
1983 Francisco Jaime Patín
1982 Ana Mª Labad Caravaca